Seven Day Countdown to School Games 2017

It is now just seven days until the beginning of the School Games 2017!

A huge congratulations to the 95 elite young athletes who have been selected to represent their country at the 2017 School Games.

This year’s School Games National Finals is taking place at Loughborough University for the second year running, and will host some of Britain’s best new athletes. The event, replicating the Olympic experience, will help hundreds of young people on their sporting journeys.

What is the School Games?

The School Games National Finals is a four day multi-sport event for the UK’s elite young athletes of school age. The event seeks to create an inspirational and motivational setting that not only provides our elite young sports people with the opportunity to thrive and perform at the highest levels, but encourages more young people to take part and succeed in sport.

Athletes compete in: Athletics, Cycling, Fencing, Hockey, Judo, Rugby 7’s, Swimming, Table Tennis, Volleyball, Wheelchair Basketball, Wheelchair Tennis and cricket.

One of the sports in the School Games is judo, and it looks like the Scotland squad are as strong as ever this summer. England topped the individual medal table in 2015 but it was Scotland who took top spot last year thanks to their haul of seven gold medals along with six silver and seven bronze medals.

Gold medallists for Scotland included Laura Hewitt (-52kg), Catherine Brownlee (-57kg), Tomi Imrie (-70kg), Emily Ritchie (+70kg), Artur Patemian (-50kg), Nordine Ardif (-55kg) and Lewis Mark (-66kg).

Sunday’s team competition saw an historic gold medal for Northern Ireland in 2016 as they saw off defending champions England in the final match of the competition leaving Scotland to pick up silver and England in bronze medal position.

Tickets are selling out quickly, so buy yours now at for all three days of competition.

Full Squad List:

Georgia Greenidge
Lucy King
Amy Oram
Neal Leech
Chloe Gowen
Kieran Masters
Samantha Gipp
Rachel Jackson
Mae Bostock
Hannah Niven
Leonnard Stannard
Chloe Dodge
Emily Tye
Ellie Worrall
Leah Grosvenor
Emily Niven
Bryony Cutforth
Brooke Adams
Simone Cross
Adam Vosper
Josh Shipp
Jamie Mansfield
Thomas Smith
Oliver Purllant
Tom Kirk
Shaun Malzarte
Scott Brelsford
Reuel O’Neal-Marshall
Ryan Rijksen-Salman
Luke Scrivens
Cameron Charles
Kolya Schwinge
Jacob Popplewell
George Burton
Max Gregory
Northern Ireland
Kirstie Strouts-McCallion
Joshua Green
Callum Nash
Peter Cassidy
Caolan McKee
Jake Doherty
Odhran McLaughlin
Joshua Rutherford
Luke Montgomery
Andrew Mcwatt
Cameron Reid-Thomas
Benedict MacLennan-Patton
Nikki Francis
Michaela Sweeten
Christy Simpson
Christopher Love
Emma Carroll
Connor Wilson
Lyle Donald
David Sommerville
Cameron Foster
James Gray
Rebecca Gray
Hannah Wood
Dominic McNealis
Louis Saez
Rachel Towle
Rachel McLachlan
Ryan Thomson
Finlay Allan
Artur Patemian
Rebecca Lamb
Leila Adrif
Emma Forrest
Catherine Brownlee
Euann Mightens
Ryan Quigley
Ezri Bradley
Callum Stuart
Dominic Zacharias
Alastair Primmer
Adam Belgroune
Ashleigh Barnikel
Ray Hext
Scott Pearce
Oliver Barratt
Callum Bennett
Ffion Robinson
Danielle Williams
Ffion Lovatt
Jonathon Wood
Seren Lovatt
Harry Thomas
Ryan Cannings
Gareth Owen
Jordan Kirkwood
Joseph Wendrich
Morgan Daley
Mia Price
Charlie Thomas