New BJA Level 1 in Coaching Award

British Judo is pleased to announce their new Level 1 in Coaching Judo Award which will replace the current Level 1 and Instructor Awards. The new Award has been developed as part of the upgrading of our coach education and revalidation programme which we will be rolling out in phases during 2013.

Coaches are fundamental to the Association in terms of player development, creating positive club environments, and supporting the many development initiatives and programmes and this new Award will provide the opportunity for aspiring coaches to access the initial steps of the coaching pathway.

The main focus of the new Award will be to provide new coaches with the appropriate coaching tools which will help them work with more experience coaches to create safe training environments that encourage the technical development of our present and future judo players.

Kingsley Hall Judo Club in Dagenham will host the first new BJA Level 1 course on 23/24 February 2013 –  the fee for the new Award is £80.00.

Rochdale Judo Club, Rochdale will host the second BJA Level 1 course on 16th/17th March 2013 – the fee for the new Award is £80.00.

To ensure the suitability of candidates wishing to attain the BJA Level 1, the following pre-requisite criteria must be met. The candidate must:

  • hold full current British Judo Association Membership
  • be 17 years of age or over
  • hold a minimum grade 2nd Kyu
  • have good knowledge of BJA Mon and Kyu Grade Syllabi

In addition to attending a BJA Level 1 Judo Coach learning programme, completing the assessment and completing portfolio tasks, the candidate will require having in place the following before receiving their BJA Level in Coaching Judo Award:

  • full current British Judo Association Membership
  • Enhanced Disclosure and Barring Service Check (formerly CRB)
  • Safeguarding and Protecting Children in Sport Certificate
  • First Aid Certificate

Once the candidate receives their award they will be required to attend three revalidation events in every three year period.

For further information visit