GB Judo Adaptive Team set for Virtus Global Games

GB Judo are pleased to announce the team selected to compete at the 2023 Virtus Global Games in Vichy, France, from 2 – 11 June.

Multiple World and European ID medallists make up the GB squad will compete at the Games.

World and double European ID champion Skye Westwood (Rush Judo; Matt Rush) is joined by World champion and European ID bronze medallist Nikki McDermott (South Shields; Joe Foster) in the women’s entries.  (ID – Intellectual Disability, now referred to as II – Intellectual Impairment)

Westwood claimed gold at the Virtus Oceania Asia Games in Brisbane last year whilst McDermott took bronze.

World and double European ID Champions Thomas Mawdsley (Mill JC; Colin Mawdsley) and Christopher Murphy (Shettleston; Paul Laverty, Alex Reid) lead the male entries. World and European ID medallist Mikey Lomas (Miramar; Andrew Parton) has been a consistent performer on the global stage and will be looking to add a further title to his CV.

They are joined by six-time British Adaptive Champion and multiple European and World ID open medallist Stuart Jackman (Swindon JC; Lee Adams).

Virtus Oceania Asia Games champions Joshua Hughes (Wirral JC; Chris Soakell) and Joshuha Hodkinson (SKK; Pete Blood) will be joined by Stanley Walker (Rush Judo; Matt Rush).

Kyle Jones (Pontarddulais Judo Club; Andrew Burt and Peter Hayward) returns to the team whilst newly classified Idris Khan (Huddersfield JC, Seth Birch) has been selected.

Team Leader, Sami Smithson said: 

“I am incredibly proud to be leading this team at the Virtus Global Games in Vichy. The team have all worked incredibly hard to earn their selection to these championships.

“We have selected a team which combines experience with exciting emerging talent, and I cannot wait to see them perform at the Games in June.”

 Full GB Judo Team for the 2023 Virtus Global Games


Skye Westwood (Rush Judo; Matt Rush)

Nikki McDermott (South Shields; Joe Foster)


Stanley Walker (Rush Judo; Matt Rush)

Joshuha Hodkinson (SKK; Pete Blood)

Joshua Hughes (Wirral JC; Chris Soakell)

Mikey Lomas (Miramar; Andrew Parton)

Christopher Murphy (Shettleston; Paul Laverty, Alex Reid)

Thomas Mawdsley (Mill JC; Colin Mawdsley)

Stuart Jackman (Swindon JC; Lee Adams)

Kyle Jones (Pontarddulais Judo Club; Andrew Burt and Peter Hayward)

Idris Khan (Huddersfield Judo Club, Seth Birch)

Watch out for further news from British Judo by checking out our latest news section. You can also catch up via our official social media platforms, FacebookTwitter and Instagram.