Team Scotland Judoka Selected for Commonwealth Games

Judo returns to the Commonwealth Games for the first time since the 2002 Games in Manchester where Scottish athletes collected 10 medals and was Scotland’s most successful sport. Amongst those medallists were Graeme Randall (Gold), and David Somerville (Silver), who will act as Team Manager and Head Coach for the 14 athletes (7 men and 7 women) selected to represent Scotland at the SECC in July and they will undoubtedly be able to share their vast experience.

Sarah Clark (a Silver medallist in Manchester) and John Buchanan are the only judoka to have already competed for Team Scotland, and will make their second Commonwealth Games appearance some 12 years on, along with their 12 team-mates making their Games debut.

Clark is one of five Olympians in the team alongside Euan Burton, James Austin, Chris Sherrington and Sally Conway.

David Somerville added that “JudoScotland went through a very thorough process to get to today and could not be happier with the team we’ve selected. When judo has been included in the Commonwealth games Scotland has produced strong performances and the athletes selected are a determined and focused group.

“We believe that the team contains an accomplished balance of experience and youth with realistic opportunities for medal success. We appreciate the work undertaken by all partners in putting our team together and we look forward to what will be a great Commonwealth games for Team Scotland.”

Congratulations to all the athletes selected – this is a fantastic achievement and JudoScotland are looking forward to our team being a part of what could be the most successful team Scotland to date.

Follow the athletes on twitter and take a look at the photos on facebook and also at @judoscotland #MeetTheTeam

JUDO (14):
James Austin Burton-Upon-Trent/Edinburgh
John Buchanan Edinburgh/Broxburn
Andrew Burns Glasgow/Edinburgh
Euan Burton Ascot/Edinburgh
Patrick Dawson Edinburgh/Edinburgh
Matthew Purssey Chertsey/Edinburgh
Chris Sherrington Ormskirk/Broxburn
Sarah Adlington Shrewsbury/Edinburgh
Sally Conway Bristol/Edinburgh
Sarah Clark South Shields/Edinburgh
Stephanie Inglis Inverness/Edinburgh
Connie Ramsay Inverness/Edinburgh
Kimberley Renicks Bellshill/Coatbridge
Louise Renicks Coatbridge/Coatbridge