Our website uses cookies so that we can provide a better browsing experience. Continue to use the site as normal, or find out how to manage cookies.
Quick Links

Southern Area Contacts

The Southern Area Committee was formed circa 1960. George Edwards was the first Chairman, followed by Cliff Baker-Brown, Mick Leigh, with Barry James now in post.

Aim: To provide an all embracing Judo service for members of the Southern Area.

1 To organize events
2 To provide coaching courses in each category for officials, coaches, players
3 To safeguard and distribute the financial resources allocated by the BJA
4 To represent the Area’s interests nationally and to foster contacts with other Areas and countries.

The Committee comprises a balanced group of experienced judoka who co-operate to implement the outcome of the objectives.

President: Mick Leigh mick_leigh33@hotmail.com  
Chair: Barry James barry3james@hotmail.com 07785534068
Vice-Chair:man: Alan Rickard alan.rickard@yahoo.co.uk  
Secretary: Tina Penfold tina.penfold_tiger@yahoo.co.uk 07527394222
Treasurer Richardson Anderson rkanderson2009@yahoo.co.uk  
Female Teams' Manager: Simone Callender southernareajudo@googlemail.com  
Male Teams' Manager: Terry Malkinson terrymalkinson@aol.com  
Technical Director: Andrew Moshanov andrewmoshanov@yahoo.co.uk 07725319179
BJA Council Representative: Alan Rickard alan.rickard@yahoo.co.uk  
Website Administrator: Martin Rivers martin_rivers@hotmail.com  

Competitions Committee

Chair: Jean Lingham jean.lingham@tiscali.co.uk
Hants: Nicky Sexton Nickyandpaul@aol.com 
Surrey: Graeme Beagley graham-judo@tinyworld.co.uk
Sussex: Roy Luff rluff@aol.com

Disciplinary and Honours

Chair: Mick Leigh mick.leigh33@hotmail.com
Member: Barry James barry3james@hotmail.com
Member: TBA  

Finance Committee

Chair: Alan Rickard alan.rickard@yahoo.co.uk
Member: Richard Anderson rkanderson2009@yahoo.co.uk 
Member: Mick Leigh mick_leigh33@hotmail.com 
Member: Barry James barry3james@hotmail.com

General Purpose Committee

Chair: Barry James barry3james@hotmail.com
Member: Mick Leigh mick_leigh33@hotmail.com
Member: Tina Penfold tina.penfold_tiger@yahoo.co.uk

Kata Committee

Chair and Area Kata Coach Dennis Penfold tina.penfold_tiger@yahoo.co.uk
Area Kata Coach: Tina Penfold tina.penfold_tiger@yahoo.co.uk
Sussex: Martin Rivers martin_rivers@hotmail.com 
Member: Jon Patterson  

Personal Safety Co-ordinator

Personal Safety Co-ordinator: Rob Murly  MurlyR@aol.com

Promotions and Examiners Committee

Director of Examiners: Dave Stanley david.stanley103@ntlworld.com
Area Registrar: Graham Turner grahamturner2806@gmail.com

Refereeing Committee

Chair: Martin Rivers martin_rivers@hotmail.com
Examinations Co-ordinator: Lisa Harrison judoref@hotmail.com 
Referee Co-ordinator: Peter Seymour plseymour1@gmail.com
Technical Advisor: Andrew Tremlett andy.tremlett@btinternet.com

Special Needs Co-ordinator

Special Needs Co-ordinator: Johan Harrison johnharrison524@btinternet.com

County Representatives

Hampshire: Paul Sexton Nicky@paul@aol.com
Kent: Alan Lingham jean.lingham@tiscali.co.uk
Sussex: Martin Rivers martin_rivers@hotmail.com
Surrey: Alan Rickard alan.rickard@yahoo.co.uk