Our website uses cookies so that we can provide a better browsing experience. Continue to use the site as normal, or find out how to manage cookies.
Quick Links

Southern Area Contacts

The Southern Area Committee was formed circa 1960. George Edwards was the first Chairman, followed by Cliff Baker-Brown, Mick Leigh, with Barry James now in post.

Aim: To provide an all embracing Judo service for members of the Southern Area.

Objectives:
1 To organize events
2 To provide coaching courses in each category for officials, coaches, players
3 To safeguard and distribute the financial resources allocated by the BJA
4 To represent the Area’s interests nationally and to foster contacts with other Areas and countries.

The Committee comprises a balanced group of experienced judoka who co-operate to implement the outcome of the objectives.

President Barry James barry3james@hotmail.com 07785 534 068
Life Vice-President: Mick Leigh    
Chair Alan Rickard alan.rickard@yahoo.co.uk 07770 467 034
Vice-Chair Dave Stanley david.stanley103@ntlworld.com  
Secretary Tina Penfold tina.penfold_tiger@yahoo.co.uk 07527 394 222
Treasurer Richardson Anderson rkanderson2009@yahoo.co.uk  
Female Teams' Manager

Sophie Johnson

Natalie Crispe

southernareajudo@googlemail.com  
Male Teams' Manager John Malkinson terrymalkinson@aol.com  
Technical Director Andrew Moshanov andrewmoshanov@yahoo.co.uk 07725319179
BJA Council Representative Alan Rickard alan.rickard@yahoo.co.uk 07770 467 034
Representatives      
Hampshire Derek Hopkins derek_sarah@btopenworld.com  
Kent Alan Lingham jean.lingham@tiscali.co.uk  
Sussex Martin Rivers martin_rivers@hotmail.com  
Surrey Natalie Hall judo4juniors@hotmail.com  

Competitions Committee

Chair: Jean Lingham jean.lingham@tiscali.co.uk
  Nicky Sexton nickyandpaul@aol.com
  Graeme Beagley graham-judo@tinyworld.co.uk
  Roy Luff rluff@aol.com
  Marcia Mullen  

Disciplinary and Honours

Chair: Graham Turner graham_turner@talktalk.net
  Barry James barry3james@hotmail.com
  Mick Leigh  
  Alan Lingham jean.lingham@tiscali.co.uk

Finance and General Purposes Committee

Chair: Alan Rickard alan.rickard@yahoo.co.uk
  Richard Anderson rkanderson2009@yahoo.co.uk 
  Dave Stanley david.stanley103@ntlworld.com
  Barry James barry3james@hotmail.com
  Mick Leigh  
  Tina Penfold tina.penfold_tiger@yahoo.co.uk

Kata Committee

Chair and Area Kata Coach Dennis Penfold tina.penfold_tiger@yahoo.co.uk
Area Kata Coach Tina Penfold tina.penfold_tiger@yahoo.co.uk
Sussex Martin Rivers martin_rivers@hotmail.com 
Hants Jon Patterson  
Kent John Malkinson  
Surrey Mike Sexton  

Personal Safety Co-ordinator

Personal Safety Co-ordinator Rob Murly  MurlyR@aol.com

Promotions and Examiners Committee

Chair Dave Stanley david.stanley103@ntlworld.com
Director of Examiners/Area Registrar Graham Turner grahamturner2806@gmail.com
  Derek Hopkins derek_sarah@btopenworld.com

Refereeing Committee

Chair Martin Rivers martin_rivers@hotmail.com
Training Co-ordinator Dave Stanley david.stanley103@ntlworld.com
Referee Co-ordinator/Sussex Peter Seymour plseymour1@gmail.com
Hants Andrew Tremlett andy.tremlett@btinternet.com
Kent Graham Holmes  
Surrey Sid Hearsey shearsey@btinternet.com

Public Relations, Media and Website 

Website Administrator Martin Rivers jmartin_rivers@hotmail.com
  Graham Holmes  

Special Needs Co-ordinator

Special Needs Co-ordinator To be confirmed  

County Chairs

Hampshire Paul Hamilton chair@hampshirejudo.org.uk
Kent Terry Malkinson terrymalkinson@aol.com
Sussex Mark Denny markdenny31@hotmail.com
Surrey Sheila Hearsey sheila@croydonjudo.com