Our website uses cookies so that we can provide a better browsing experience. Continue to use the site as normal, or find out how to manage cookies.
Quick Links

The 9th Annual British Judo Awards Dinner - The Winners

Monday, 9 November, 2015 - 12:28pm

Categories: General News,

The 2015 British Judo Annual Awards Dinner Winners

British Judo’s 9th Annual Awards Dinner recognised the outstanding achievements of all of our players, coaches, volunteers and referees in 2015 on Saturday 7th November at the East Midlands Conference Centre in Nottingham.

The awards began with the recognition of the players of the year across all of levels of the sport.

The female Cadet Player of the Year was awarded to Olivia Piechota alongside fellow cadet Scott Thomson took the title of male Cadet Player of the Year.

Ryecroft Judo Club and Centre of Excellence player Sam Hall took the title of male Junior Player of the Year for a second year running, alongside Junior European Champion, Lucy Renshall who won the female Junior Player of the Year Award.

IJF Masters silver medallist Natalie Powell of Irfon Judo Club was awarded female Senior Player of the Year, for a second year running, alongside Ben Fletcher of Pinewood Judo Club who was awarded Senior Player of the Year.

Chris Skelley was awarded Visually Impaired Player of the Year capping off an amazing year of success in the face of adversity after coming back from injury to claim VI World Games bronze medal.

Tom Mawdsley of The Mill Judo Club was awarded Inclusion Player of the Year.

Mitch Agnelli of Guernsey Judo Club and Jenny Hussey of Corby Judo Club were awarded Masters Player of the Year, which was presented by British Judo Association Chairman Ronnie Saez.

The Young Referee of the Year Award gold went to Louis Norton of Warrington Warjukwai Judo Club, silver to Ian Aldous of Hollesley Judo Club and bronze to Benedict Ray of Clyde Judo Club and Neith Charlesworth of Happidojo Marham Judo Club.

Referee of the Year gold was won by Donald Turnbull of Awe Judo Cluby, silver by Graham Bayley of Warrington Warjukwai Judo Club and bronze to George Lawes of Pinewood Judo Club and Wayne Melville of Stratford Judokwai.

Official of the Year gold was awarded to Christine Richards, silver to Leigh Hemming of Harlow Judo Club and bronze to Alexander McKay of Warrington Warjukwai Judo Club and Sally Hemming of Harlow Judo Club.

Young Volunteer of the Year gold medal went to Cailean McCallum from Happidojo Marham Judo Club, silver to Cameron Foster of Highland Budokan Judo Club and bronze awards to Marnie Bavington of Northbrook Kyu Shin Kai Judo Club and Bendeguz Haklik of Norwich Premier Judo Club.

The Club Volunteer of the Year, sponsored by Mullberry Square, celebrated the achievements of our club volunteers, with Eric Salway of Rainbow Judo Club awarded gold, Peter Brayford (Moira Miners Welfare Judo Club) was awarded silver whilst the bronze awards to Glen Winter-Nolan (United Judo (Gillingham)) and Dave Tompkins (Northampton Judo Club).

The Event Volunteer of the Year gold went to Pat and Dawn Byrne from Lancaster University Judo Club, silver to Derek Seller and Richard Colmon of Ryedale Judo Club and bronze to Averil Taggart of Shinsei Judo Club.

In the Club Coach of the Year category, the gold was awarded to David Duxberry, Jason Parsons and Mark Burbidge from Devizes Budo Club. The silver was awarded to Vincent Skillcorn of Fighting Fitness Judo with bronze going to Francesca Paine also of Fighting Fitness Judo.

In the Volunteer of the Year category, sponsored by Westbrook, gold was awarded to Harry Holt, with silver going to Beverly Bunyan (York Railway Institute Judo Club) and bronze awards going to Jim MacKenzie of Redcar Judo Club and Susan Wright of Clyde Judo Club.

Club of the Year gold was awarded to Black Dog Judo Club, silver to Irfon Judo Club and bronze awards going to Bishop Stortford Judokwai and Clyde Judo Club.

The Presidents Award, sponsored by Perkins Slade was awarded to Mick Leigh of Kin Ryu Judo Club.

For the first time at the Annual Awards, there was a special presentation of The Roy Inman Award, in memory of Roy and his contribution to British Judo. The award was presented by Loretta Cusack-Doyle to Carol Inman.

British Judo Chief Executive, Andrew Scoular said: "It has been a great year for British Judo with some fantastic and memorable performances by British players at all levels. The Awards give us all a chance to recognise and celebrate the club volunteers, coaches, referees, officials and athletes who have achieved so much over the last 12 months. It was a great turn out and a very enjoyable evening.

"All of the staff did an amazing job and it was a fantastic opportunity to meet up with friends and colleagues in a relaxed environment. Congratulations to all those nominated for this year’s awards. It is the time, dedication and committed hard work of all our volunteers that keeps our sport alive. Thank you to all of our sponsors including Mulberry Square, Perkins Slade, Westbrook, Destination Judo, CSE, Cimac and PharmaNutricals, and to the East Midlands Conference Centre for hosting us."

2015 British Judo Award Winners

Young Referee of the Year

Gold: Louis Norton, Warrington Warjukwai Judo Club

Silver: Ian Aldous, Hollesley Judo Club

Bronze: Benedict Ray, Clyde Judo Club and Neith Charlesworth, Happidojo Marham Judo Club


Referee of the Year

Gold: Donald Turnbull, Awe Judo Club

Silver: Graham Bayley, Warrington Warjukwai Judo Club

Bronze: George Lawes, Pinewood Judo Club and Wayne Melville, Stratford Judokwai


Official of the Year

Gold: Christine Richards

Silver: Leigh Hemming, Harlow Judo Club

Bronze: Alexander McKay, Warrington Warjukwai Judo Club and Sally Hemming, Harlow Judo Club


Event Volunteer of the Year

Gold: Pat and Dawn Byrne, Lancaster University Judo Club

Silver: Derek Seller and Richard Colmon, Ryedale Judo Club

Bronze: Averil Taggart, Shinsei Judo Club


Young Volunteer of the Year

Gold: Cailean McCallum, Happidojo Marham Judo Club

Silver: Cameron Foster, Highland Budokan Judo Club

Bronze: Marnie Bavington, Northbrook Kyu Shin Kai Judo Club and Bendeguz Haklik, Norwich Premier Judo Club


Club Volunteer of the Year

Gold: Eric Salway, Rainbow Judo Club

Silver: Peter Brayford, Moira Miners Welfare Judo Club

Bronze: Glen Winter-Nolan, United Judo (Gillingham) and Dave Tompkins (Northampton Judo Club)


Club Coach of the Year

Gold: David Duxberry, Jason Parsons and Mark Burbidge, Devizes Budo Club

Silver: Vincent Skillcorn, Fighting Fitness Judo

Bronze: Franseca Paine, Fighting Fitness Judo


Volunteer of the Year

Gold: Harry Holt

Silver: Beverley Bunyan, York Railway Institute Judo Club

Bronze: Jim MacKenzie, Redcar Judo Club and Susan Wright, Clyde Judo Club


Club of Year

Gold: Black Dog Judo Club

Silver: Irfon Judo Club

Bronze: Bishop Stortford Judokwai and Clyde Judo Club


President's Award

Winner: Mick Leigh

Back to News